Meet Debra…

199291_10150107438424760_5527055_nMeet Debra and her husband Nelson! I found out that her and her husband met in an unusual way…here is what she said:

“I have a 19-year-old son (Brandon) who still lives with me. I was married to his dad for 16 years and then divorced in 2008. I met my current husband (Nelson) in 2009 and we got married in 2010. Nelson and I met on Match.com and he was the 3rd guy I went out with. I had no idea that I would actually meet and marry someone I met on this dating website! I was only looking for someone who I could go 544682_10150863203499760_18028829_nto dinner with and maybe a movie but apparently God had different plans for me and I am very thankful for that. We love to go on trips and have been on several cruises which we both love.”

Tell me how you started coming to ThatChurch…

“There were several folks who used to go to Gravel Ridge First Baptist that were now going to That Church, formerly known as Mercy’s Cross and I had heard great things from them about this church. I was looking for a church that my son would enjoy going to. We were going to Baring Cross before I came here and he hated going to church because they were old-fashioned. I have been going to this church now for approximately 6 years.”

And we are certainly glad you are!

224793_2014697213750_3423211_nDebra can always be found serving…

She has a huge heart and is always giving!

What ministries are you involved in Debra?

” I am involved with the Women’s Ministry, Children’s Ministry and the Counting Team Ministry.” Whew…that’s a lot!

Debra is part of the Women’s Ministry leadership team. I asked her what her favorite part of the team is, and here is what she said…540428_10151494752265333_2018531409_n

“I love the fellowship and being able to meet women that I might not otherwise meet. Planning things for this ministry is fun and rewarding and I am thankful for the opportunity that God gave me to serve in this ministry.”

562238_10151494754540333_2040215421_n

That is what is all about!

Connecting with other women!

I love it! And so does Debra. Everyone she meets is an instant friend. She is the most caring and genuine person you will meet!

Just ask her friends!

534151_4832965950558_1239305255_n

I asked her just what do these women at ThatChurch mean to you…

“I love having other Christian women that I can share my ups and downs with and know that they are praying for me and my family.

65194_10200426473975659_1441850193_nI think it is important in a marriage to have girl time and I can’t think of a better group of women to spend time with than the women at That Church!”

Yep, that’s Debra!

Tell us a little more about your hobbies and other things Debra…

168134_1654802843036_6068753_n“I am always trying to lose weight and therefore, I spend a lot of time in the gym. I love doing zumba and I walk every morning at 5:30 am with Teresa Smith. I like to read and am a member of the Book Club which I really enjoy.

I also a member of the CanningCanning group and am so thankful that Mary started this group because I love doing stuff like this but didn’t because I don’t like doing it by myself. Having others to do this with is much more fun!” canning II

And fun is what we have! And we make some great things too!

yummies

That is just a little bit about our friend Debra. When you see her, please give her a hug and tell her you got to read a little about her on the blog...if you can find this woman, she serves in so many ministries!

photo (4)P.S. I have to tell you a little Secret Sister story. Many years ago when I (Mary) joined First Baptist of Gravel Ridge, I signed up to have a Secret Sister. I didn’t know anything about it, but just felt I needed to get connected. Debra drew my name. Of course I didn’t know at that time, but Debra was the best secret sister a girl could have. She prayed for me, she left cards and Bible verses just when I needed, and she gave very thoughtful gifts too! You see, it was the start of our friendship and that was well over 10 years ago. I am so thankful to have joined the Secret Sisters that year because you see…I have a lifelong friendship now.

Funny

P.S.S. One day after book club, Renee’s puppy decided to love on Debra…which is all fine if you like big dogs! You see, Debra does NOT! She’s a trooper though…we just laughed and laughed.

((Sorry my friend, had to share this one too!))

Love ya mean it. bahahahahahha still laughing.

8 thoughts on “Meet Debra…

  1. LOVE LOVE LOVE DEBRA!!!!! Her heart for God, Ministry, and others is so contagious and inspiring!!!! And yes, me and COOPER LOVE Debra!!!! 🙂

  2. What a great blog on a great person! Can’t wait to meet her! Bahahahahahahhaa Just kidding! I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Debra. Her and Nelson served in the toddler ministry together….then she got coerced in to helping Robin Moody in the 2 yr olds for a little while. She is always willing to serve!!! Her heart is golden. I’ve enjoyed the meet and greets for book club AND the time I recently got to enjoy making pickles! We had such great laughs turning green together! Bahahahahahaha

Leave a Reply

